Poetry London is a leading international magazine, where new names share pages with acclaimed contemporary poets. We also publish a wide range of poetry in translation.

The magazine is published in March, June and October. We receive a vast amount of submissions, so reading can take up to three months, and if your work is shortlisted, maybe even longer. You might find it helpful to read the magazine first, to see if your work is suitable.

The Poetry London Prize

The Poetry London Prize is a major, internationally renowned award for a single outstanding poem. Previous winners include Liz Berry, Niall Campbell, Romalyn Ante and Richard Scott. 

The 2024 Poetry London Prize is now open

Winners will be notified by the end of September 2024

First Prize £5,000
Second Prize £2,000
Third Prize £1,000. 

Submissions Open: March 15. Closing Date: June 30

The judge of the 2024 Prize is Hannah Sullivan.

Hannah Sullivan is the author of Three Poems, which won the T. S. Eliot prize for 2018, as well as The Work of Revision (Harvard, 2013) and Was It for This (Faber, 2023). A lifelong Londoner, she now lives in Oxford with her husband and sons and is a fellow at New College.

How to enter the Poetry London Prize

The Poetry London Pamphlet Prize

The Poetry London Pamphlet Prize will help writers of all backgrounds and ages who are ready to take their work to the next level via publication with Poetry London Editions, the magazine’s new imprint.

The 2024 Pamphlet Prize is now open

The winner will receive £250, publication of their pamphlet with Poetry London Editions and ten author copies of the work. The winner will also be invited to launch their pamphlet at Poetry London’s Autumn 2024 Readings at the Southbank Centre as part of the London Literature Festival.

This year’s judges are Nicole Sealey and Dan O’Brien.

Submissions Open: March 15. Closing Date: May 31.


Nicole Sealey is the author of The Ferguson Report: An Erasure, an excerpt from which was awarded the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem, Ordinary Beast, finalist for the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award and the PEN Open Book Award, and The Animal After Whom Other Animals Are Named, winner of the Drinking Gourd Chapbook Prize.
Dan O’Brien is a poet, playwright, and nonfiction writer whose recognition includes the Fenton Aldeburgh First Collection Prize, a Guggenheim Fellowship in Drama, and two PEN America Awards for playwriting. His poetry collections are Survivor’s Notebook, Our Cancers, New Life, Scarsdale, and War Reporter.
How to enter the Pamphlet Prize


Current vacancies to join the Poetry London team will be displayed here—to ensure you keep up to date with future opportunities sign up to our mailing list below. We particularly welcome applications from candidates from groups or backgrounds which are currently underrepresented in publishing.

Stay updated on opportunities at Poetry London

Enter your email below to be kept up to date on future vacancies at Poetry London, as well as all our latest news and announcements.


More from Poetry London