Poetry London Autumn 2016 Readings – Monday 26 September

Poetry London launches its Autumn issue with readings from Sean O’Brien,Matthew Dickman and Daisy Lafarge, alongside the winners of this year’s Poetry London Competition. The evening will be hosted by the magazine’s Poetry Editor, Ahren Warner.

Sean O’Brien’s recent publications include Collected Poems (2012), The Drowned Book, republished as a Picador Classic in 2015 (first published in 2007 and awarded both the Forward and T S Eliot Prizes that year), and The Beautiful Librarians (2015), his eighth collection, which received the Roehampton Poetry Prize, was a Poetry Book Society Choice and was shortlisted for the T S Eliot Prize. He is Professor of Creative Writing at Newcastle University and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Matthew Dickman is the author of books including All-American Poem (2008) and Mayakovsky’s Revolver (2012), as well as a new collection, Brother, published in the UK by Faber and co-written with Michael Dickman. Matthew is the recipient of The Honickman First Book Prize, The May Sarton Award from the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Kate Tufts Award from Claremont College, and the 2009 Oregon Book Award from Literary Arts of Oregon. He is a 2015 Guggenheim recipient and the Poetry Editor of Tin House Magazine.

Daisy Lafarge grew up in the south of England. For the last five years she has lived in Edinburgh studying Fine Art and History of Art, where she graduated in June 2016. In February she was awarded first prize in the Poetry Book Society National Student Poetry Competition, and in October will begin an interdisciplinary PhD at the University of Glasgow.